Welcome, New Commissioners!

Governor Bill Lee appoints Jenny Boyd, Cindy Ogle, and Kurt Winstead to the Tennessee Arts Commission board

By Anne B. Pope, Executive Director

We are so fortunate to have three new board members who joined us in FY23. Governor Bill Lee recently appointed Jenny Boyd of Knoxville, Cindy Ogle of Gatlinburg, and Kurt Winstead of Franklin to sit on the Tennessee Arts Commission Board. The 15 volunteer board members of the Commission are selected from citizens who have demonstrated a vital interest in the arts and culture of Tennessee and are appointed by the Governor for a five-year term.

Jenny Boyd
Jenny Boyd

Jenny Boyd is the founder of Boyd’s Jig and Reel, a Scottish pub in Knoxville’s Old City dedicated to preserving and sharing the music of East Tennessee. She currently helps lead the Boyd Foundation, which contributes millions of dollars to the local community, is a member of the University of Tennessee Alliance of Women Philanthropists, and is active in numerous community boards. Her background in the arts includes being a fiddle and mandolin musician in the Good Thymes Ceilidh Band, a previous member of the Knoxville Ballet Company, theatrical productions in high school, college, and a dinner theatre production.

Jenny and her husband Randy, President of the University of Tennessee, are major philanthropic community partners.”

Cindy Ogle
Cindy Ogle

Cindy Cameron Ogle is currently the City Manager of Gatlinburg, which is a position she has held since 1989 and is the longest tenured City Manager in the 76-year history of the City.

She previously served on the Tennessee Arts Commission Board from 2015 through 2020.

In her role as City Manager, she oversees the daily operations of the City and ensures that policies and programs approved by the Gatlinburg City Commission are implemented efficiently and effectively. Ogle is also responsible for managing the over 350 employees of the City and a budget that has more than tripled since 1988.

Ogle’s tenured career with the City of Gatlinburg was recognized statewide when she was named City Manager of the Year in 2002 by the Tennessee City Management Association, an organization of which she is a past-President and Board Member. She also currently serves as a member of the University of Tennessee Masters of Public Administration and Public Policy Board of Advisors. Ogle is also a past-Vice President and member of the International City Management Association.

An alumnus of the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, Ogle holds a Bachelor of Arts in Human Services and a Masters of Public Administration from the school. She was also a member of Alpha Delta Pi Sorority. She also was a member of the University’s Graduate Government Leadership Program in 1995.

She was married to the late Larry ‘Bud’ Ogle, who she was wed to for 29 years. They have two daughters and eight grandchildren.

Kurt Winstead
Kurt Winstead

Kurtis J. Winstead has practiced law in middle Tennessee since 1988. He received his undergraduate degree from Centre College and a law degree from the University of Richmond in Virginia. Practical litigation experience representing businesses in federal and state courts compliments Kurt’s current role as “outside” General Counsel for Tennessee businesses, especially when acting as advisor or advocate on commercial transactions, torts, employment issues, and contracts. Kurt also serves as General Counsel for two statewide business associations. He is admitted to practice in all State and Federal Courts of Tennessee, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, and the United States Supreme Court and has served as a Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 31 Listed General Civil Mediator. Kurt has an AV Preeminent Rating by Martindale-Hubbell and formerly served as an Adjunct Instructor of Business Law at Belmont University’s Undergraduate College of Business Administration.

Kurt retired as a Brigadier General from the Tennessee National Guard in 2021 after 30 years of service, including positions as Director of the Joint Staff, State’s Senior Staff Judge Advocate, and Brigade Command Judge Advocate during Operation Iraqi Freedom III. His military career began in late 1990 during soldier preparations in support of “Desert Storm” starting in January 1991 after receiving a direct commission as a 1st Lieutenant in the Judge Advocate General Corps (JAG) assigned to the 194th Engineer Brigade, Tennessee Army National Guard. As the Brigade Command Judge Advocate during Operation Iraqi Freedom III Kurt was instrumental in forming a consolidated legal office that provided service to over five thousand Soldiers and Airmen spanning an area covering one-half of Iraq, receiving the Meritorious Service Medal for these efforts. Subsequently, he served as Tennessee’s Senior Staff Judge Advocate at Joint Force Headquarters in Nashville (2009-2017). Kurt earned a Master of Strategic Studies from the U.S. Army War College in 2010 and, in 2012, received the Citizen of the Year Award from The Not Alone America’s Future Series Nashville for his service in the Tennessee National Guard.

Kurt has served as Chairman of the Board for both Battle Ground Academy Board of Trustees (Franklin, Tennessee) and Leadership Middle Tennessee Board of Directors. Kurt currently serves on the Boards of Directors for Columbia State Community College Foundation, Franklin Tomorrow, Andrew Jackson Hermitage Foundation, and Campbell Strong Defense Alliance. He is a member of the Industrial Development Board of Williamson County, Rotary Club of Franklin Noon, Williamson, Inc., Heritage Foundation of Williamson County, VFW Post 9543, National Rifle Association, and National Guard Associations of Tennessee and United States. Kurt is a graduate of Leadership Tennessee, Leadership Middle Tennessee, Leadership Franklin, Complete Tennessee Leadership Institute, and received the Centre College Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2021.

Kurt and his wife, Beth, have lived in Franklin for nearly 30 years and have two daughters, Bridget and Mary Hannah.

We are so proud to have three more members of this caliber become part of the Commission. Please join us in welcoming Jenny, Cindy, and Kurt to our board.