Press Releases

Ann Smith of Johnson City to be the new Commission Secretary

Nashville—Ann C. Smith of Johnson City, Tennessee, will serve as the Tennessee Arts Commission Secretary beginning July 1, 2014. The Commission members unanimously voted for the new leadership during the quarterly meeting held in Nashville on June 10, 2014. Smith will be joined in office by Chair, Patsy Camp of Jackson and Vice-Chair, Stephanie Conner of Nashville.

“We are so pleased about the selection of Mrs. Smith as the incoming secretary,” says Anne B. Pope, Tennessee Arts Commission Executive Director. “The arts in Tennessee are very fortunate to have Mrs. Smith’s experience as a long-time arts advocate and community leader.”

Smith was appointed to the Tennessee Arts Commission by Governor Bill Haslam for a five-year term representing Congressional District 1 in 2011. Previously, Smith served on the Tennessee Arts Commission from FY1998-2002 and was also a former Chair. This past year, Smith served on both the Allocations Committee and the Strategic Plan Committee for the Commission.

An avid believer in community involvement, Smith has held numerous leadership positions across East Tennessee. She has served on the Johnson City Area Arts Council and was a Trustee of the Johnson City Medical Center Foundation. In 2013, Smith was a recipient of the prestigious YWCA’s Tribute to Women Award.

In 1999, she was named Volunteer of the Year by the Mountain States Health Alliance and was also a member of the Tennessee State Museum Committee. In the political realm, Smith served as Interim Regional Representative for Former Gov. Don Sundquist and President of Washington Republican Women. Smith is currently on the National Republican Committee and the Tennessee Federation of Republican Women.

“Serving on the Tennessee Arts Commission board is very rewarding as I have personally witnessed how the arts can improve communities, schools and make us all better,” said Smith. “I am honored to accept this new leadership position.”

The Tennessee Arts Commission is a state arts agency whose mission is to cultivate the arts for the benefit of all Tennesseans and their communities. The Tennessee Arts Commission is governed by a 15-member board who are appointed by the Governor for a five year term. The Commission meetings occur quarterly and are open to the public. More information about the Tennessee Arts Commission can be found at the website,