Press Releases

Governor Haslam Appoints Oak Ridge Community Leader to TN Arts Commission Board

Nashville—Governor Bill Haslam recently appointed Jan McNally of Oak Ridge to sit on the Tennessee Arts Commission Board for a five-year term.

“Serving on the Tennessee Arts Commission is an important responsibility, and we thank Jan for her commitment. Her knowledge and experience will benefit the Commission and all Tennesseans,” said Commission Chair Ritche Bowden.

McNally is currently a part-time consultant with Covenant Health. She retired as director for the Journey to Excellence, Leadership Development at Covenant Health in 2013. Previously she was the president and chief administrative officer for Methodist Medical Center of Oak Ridge.

McNally serves on the Board of Directors and as Treasurer for the East Tennessee Foundation. She also is chair of the board of directors for Ridgeview Behavioral Services. Jan is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives and served on the University of Tennessee College of Nursing Advisory Board.

“Jan’s leadership, professional achievement and extensive community service will be a great asset to our mission of moving communities forward through the arts in Tennessee,” said Tennessee Arts Commission Executive Director Anne B. Pope.

A graduate of the J&J Wharton Fellows Program for Nurse Executives, Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, McNally holds a B.S. in Biology and Psychology from Mississippi University for Women; a BSN from the University of Tennessee Knoxville; and an MHSA from the University of St. Francis.

McNally has received the University of Tennessee College of Nursing Outstanding Alumni Award; the University of Tennessee College of Nursing Distinguished Alumni Award; the Ned R. McWherter Excellence Award, Tennessee Center for Performance Excellence; and a Knoxville Healthcare Heroes Award. She continues to be an enthusiastic supporter of theater, music and dance in the Knoxville/Oak Ridge region.

The Tennessee Arts Commission consists of 15 members who convene quarterly and are broadly representative of all geographic areas of the state and all fields of the performing, visual and literary arts. Commission members serve five-year terms with the chair and other officers being elected annually. For more information, visit