Previous Winners 1971-2000

Marilyn DuBrisk
Memphis Arts Council
Natalie and Jim Haslam
Cannon Carriage Company
City of Bell Buckle
ServiceMaster Consumer Services, Memphis
Nikki Giovanni
Patricia Neal
Mary and Tony Portera

Jacquelynn Adams
Nina and Pat Brock
Eastman Chemical Company
Knoxville Museum of Art and WUOT-FM
Nashville Symphony Association
National Civil Rights Museum
Henry Ponder
Veda Reed
The Tullahoma News
Citizens of Humboldt for Support of the West Tennessee Regional Art Center

Allied Arts of Chattanooga
Walter Armstrong, Jr.
AutoZone and J.R. “Pitt” Hyde, III
Gertrude and Benjamin Caldwell
The Rev. Will D. Campbell
The Fairfield Four
Bessie Harvey
Sylvia Hyman
Mike Reid
Earl Scruggs
Tennessee Association of Craft Artists
Tennessee Dance Theatre
Tennessee Overhill Heritage Tourism Association
Williamson Medical Center

Chet Atkins
Blues City Cultural Center, Memphis
Shelby Foote
Joseph E. Hodges
Jubilee Community Arts, Knoxville
Shell & Miller Advertising, Johnson City
Joy Brown Wiener
Russel Wiener
The Arts Center Trust, Woodbury

R. B. Davenport, III
City of Jackson
The Fine Arts Center of Cheekwood, Nashville
Federal Express Corporation, Memphis
Knoxville Museum of Art
Jane Entrekin
Kenton Coe
National Ornamental Metal Museum, Memphis
Wilma Dykeman
George Cress
Circuit Playhouse/Playhouse on the Square, Memphis

Joe Giles
Carl R. Moore
Peter Taylor
City of Memphis
First National Bank of Pulaski
Historic Rugby
Knoxville Symphony Orchestra
Lebonheur Children’s Medical Center, Kaleidoscope Program, Memphis
Loveman’s of Chattanooga
Charles K. Wolfe

Burton Callicott
Walter Knestrick
Allied Arts of Chattanooga, Incorporated
American General Life and Accident Insurance Company, Nashville
Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts, Gatlinburg
City of Kingsport
Red Grooms
Sarah Cannon and Alex Haley in honor of Tennessee Volunteers for Homecoming 1986
Juanita Greene Parks

Carroll Cloar
Louise LeQuire
Cumberland County Playhouse, Crossville
Dogwood Arts Festival, Knoxville
First Tennessee Bank, Memphis
Lyndhurst Foundation, Chattanooga
Humanities Outreach in Tennessee
Tennessee Performing Arts Center, Nashville
The Citizens of Jonesborough for Their Support of the National Association for the Preservation and Perpetuation of Storytelling
Andrew Lytle
Vincent de Frank

Dr. Ralph G. Allen
ALCOA Foundation
C. Kermit Ewing
Hospital Corporation of America, Nashville
Marc Martinez
Nashville Institute for the Arts
Mrs. Charles (Anne) Roos
Vivian C. Towwater
Randy Tyree

Jesse C. Beesley
Chattanooga Boys Choir
Commerce Union Bank, Nashville
Robert Cothran
Joe L. Evins
Alden and Mary Gomez
Clara Hieronymus
Martha Rivers Ingram
The Jackson Sun
Opera Memphis
Jimmy Neil Smith
Ross Spears
Anita M. Stallworth
Edward H. Zarnbara

Beethoven Club, Memphis
Center for Southern Folklore, Memphis
Children’s Museum of Oak Ridge
Gannett Newspaper Foundation
Marian Heard
City of Hendersonville
Metropolitan Nashville Board of Parks and Recreation
Nashville Children’s Theatre
The Oak Ridger
St. John’s Episcopal Church, Knoxville

Bendix Corporation, Jackson
Benwood Foundation, Chattanooga
Chattanooga Symphony
Clarence Brown Theatre, Knoxville
First American National Bank, Knoxville
William T. Gamble
Knoxville Heritage
Memphis Academy of Art
NLT Corporation, Nashville
Tennessee Eastman, Kingsport
Theatre Memphis
Union City Messenger

Bank of Maryville
Chattanooga Choo-Choo, Incorporated
Germantown Women’s Club
Hunter Museum of Art, Chattanooga
Memphis Little Theatre
Sinking Creek Film Celebration, Greeneville
WSIX Broadcasting Company, Nashville

Allied Arts Fund of Greater Chattanooga
Bristol Board of Education
Broadcast Music Incorporated, Nashville
Cumberland Arts Society, Cookeville
East Tennessee Design Center, Knoxville
Fine Arts Center of Kingsport
Franklin County Artists Guild, Winchester
Jackson Arts Council
City of Martin
City of Memphis and County of Shelby
Oliver Springs School System City of Portland
Reelfoot Packing Company of Union City
Tullahoma Fine Arts Center
WPLN-FM, Nashville

Past Gordon Holl Outstanding Arts Administrator Award Winners

Beginning in 1982 and continuing through 1999 the Tennessee Arts Commission recognized outstanding administrators serving Tennessee arts organizations with the Gordon Holl Outstanding Arts Administrator Award. Gordon Holl served for over 15 years as the assistant director of the Commission and upon his retirement the award was established in his honor. When the Commission established the current award categories the Gordon Holl Award was retired. Outstanding arts administrators not previously recognized by the Commission with an award may be nominated in the current Arts Leadership Award category.

1982  —  Selma Shapiro
1984  —  Wanda Harding
1985 —  Sherwood Lohrey
1987 —  Kevin Grogan
198 —  Jim Crabtree
1991 —  Joe Muncey
1993 —  Jackie Nichols
1995 —  Bill Kornrich
1997 —  Alice C. Merritt
1999 —  Sandra Blain, Molly K. Sasse, Dorothy Gunther Pugh